Levitstown Mill

Levitstown Mill and Lock Gates in winter

History of Levitstown mill

Levitstown Mill was built in 1791. It is a seven-story building, now derelict having burnt down on the 14th of March 1942. It is seven bays wide and three bays deep. It was owned over the years buy several different families including the Haughton and Hannon families who had other mills in the area, including Ardreigh and Athy. Levitstown Mill closed for a time in the 1920’s/early 30’s before it was reopened by the Minch / Norton operation. Here they produced both Malting Barley for Guinness’s and Cattle Cake. The Malt for a time was transported via the canal to St James’s Gate in Dublin. However, this was short lived as Levitstown Mill went on fire in 1942 and was burnt to the ground.
Like other mills on the system, a hydroelectric generator was installed next to the canal lock and utilised the difference in water level/the drop, between the canal and river to turn the turbine and generate electricity. This is still in use today and supplies electric power to the local holiday homes on the adjacent island.
Today, Levitstown Mill and the area is a local beauty spot, with the canal stretch being a major attraction to anglers from all over. Its not uncommon to witness numerous fishermen wetting a line, having travelled from a far, for a day’s fishing.
Levitstown Mill was also used for filming of the mini TV series Manions of America in the late 70’s & early 80’s which stared Pierce Brosnan. Many locals from south Kildare were employed or took part in its production at the time. During filming, the mill is used and set alight.


Finding Levitstown Mill

Levitstown Mill is located the townland of Levitstown (Baile Luibhéid) in Grangemellon, Tankardstown Parish, in south County Kildare, Ireland. Here are the Longitude & Latitude Co-ordinates 52.936400, -6.949370. However, the easiest way to find Levitstown Mill is by following Google Maps (Levitstown Mill)


Map to Levitstown Mill

Photos of Levitstown Mill

1st January 2023


Clifford Reid

Written by Clifford Reid


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts

Coffee Stop at Milford

Coffee Stop at Milford

Barrow Brew Café Established by sisters Majella Owens and Nicola Doyle, Barrow Brew continues to grow in both customers and size on the banks of the beautiful river Barrow at Milford, Carlow. Expanding into a small nearby woodland clearing, and serving artisan coffee,...

Interview: Clifford Reid on KCLR

Interview: Clifford Reid on KCLR

KCLR fm: Clifford Reid and the river NoreSounds and chat of the river Edwina Grace joined us recently on one of our boat trips through the medieval city of Kilkenny. It was great to catch up and have a chat about the beautiful river Nore, the wildlife that make it...

Maintenance Work at Moorings

Maintenance Work at Moorings

Riverbank Maintenance Boat users in Athy wish to extend its gratitude and thanks to Brian Kenny and the local team at Tús for the fantastic ongoing work in helping to keep our waterways looking great and helping with access for users. Seen daily throughout the year,...